peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Green Laundry Soap

Leave a comment

A while back I ran out of laundry soap. One thing I have learned through years of being a tax widow (having a CPA husband) is that even though we may be running out of nearly everything but chicken bouillon cubes, cutting my finger with a kitchen knife is preferable to taking a brood of small children grocery shopping. With that in mind, I have had to learn how to make-my-own just about anything. I must confess a certain accomplishment in knowing I don’t need Meijer as much as I thought I did. Though I do so appreciate you, Meijer.

During busy season a few major staples get us through the long stretches until I can grocery alone. So as I said, one day I ran out of laundry soap, and googled “myo laundry soap” to find a great recipe that I have tweaked a bit, but that has now replaced my regular detergent.

IMG_5374
It’s green, it’s clean, and it washes out the mean. Here is what you do:

  • 1 bar Felsnaptha soap
  • 1 c. Arm and Hammer Baking Soda Wash (not baking soda)
  • 1 c. Borax 20 mule team
  • 1/4 c. Oxy Clean

Grate the bar of soap on a box grater, place in container. To it, add Baking Soda Wash, Borax and Oxy. Mix with spoon. Use 2 Tbsp of mixed detergent per load.

IMG_5375

IMG_5377

For fabric softner add 1/4 c white vinegar and 5-6 drops of any essential oil of your choice to your washing machine when needed.

Due to sensitive skin, I have always used the Purfume/dye-free brands. This has been even better and it’s so cheap. I haven’t worked out all the math yet, but I know it’s a steal.

Leave a Reply

