peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Need More Time

Leave a comment

Santa Baby Ornaments

One of my goals for 2007 was to learn to knit. I’m thrilled I was able to learn, but now trying to apply this new craft to gift-giving leaves me realizing how I should have started MUCH earlier in the year.

These little Santa Baby Hats were a free pattern from Susan B. Anderson, author of Itty Bitty Nursery and Itty Bitty Hats. These will be the kids’ ornaments this year. I have a green felt tag to attach yet, with each of their names embroidered. These knit very quickly (in 1-3 hours) and were my first experience with double pointed needles. I think I’m getting closer to trying socks–which is what I most want to make at this point.

First Mittens

These mittens are for my daughter. What I didn’t know how to do I was able to learn on the wonderful You Tube tutorials that knitters post. For the first time, I understood the comfort that comes from using a quality yarn (I’ve been cutting my teeth mostly on the cheap stuff up to this point). The click of the needles is a soothing rhythm I quickly grew to love, but now I can appreciate the feel of the yarn more. My hands aren’t as clinched as they were when I first started, for one thing.

I still have 1 1/2 scarves (school colors for the boys) and 1 more pair of mittens (for our toddler) to squeeze in between wrapping sessions. If I don’t make it in time, I’m not going to sweat it.

Guess what I’m doing tonight?

Leave a Reply

