peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Welcome 2008!

Leave a comment

Here’s to wishing for health, peace and a Happy New Year. I look forward to sitting down with my journal soon to mull over all that 2007 held. Yet 2008 is already staring me straight in the eyes, so let’s begin here. Like many others, I don’t make resolutions. Instead I throw my efforts toward a few specific goals over the course of the year.

Brilliant Blue

Every year I seek most to grow in my understanding and obedience to the God I serve. I want to start my days with my mind fixed on Him. I have some new books I’m looking forward to reading as well.

I pray I’ll adjust well to the impending changes that are coming to our family in February. To savor the uniqueness of each of my jewels. They are each rare and precious in and of themselves. Together they are brilliant. I want to remember this when the chaos ensues or the days seem challenging; to remember to gain some perspective should I start to feel otherwise.

On a more pragmatic and creative level, I want to learn to quilt this year. I just received this great book for Christmas and am planning to do the lap quilt for starters. I’m very excited about that.

And finally I hope to explore this idea of blogging. I want to find my voice and define this space a little better over the coming months. I began it in part to help capture our days–from the great to the mundane…to keep my own perspective in focus. Freshly mopped floors last maybe! 20 minutes in this house before the milk gets spilled. The blog is a little more sustainable than housework and yet more tangible and immediate than the work of parenting which will be a lifelong journey of ebb and flow. I look forward to meeting new people and seeing where this trail leads me. Please feel free to comment anytime!

    I’m excited for the new year. It feels fresh and clean. Welcome 2008!

    Leave a Reply

    