peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

One Man’s Trash

2 Comments

…really is another man’s treasure. Outfitting a house with free furniture is an art that my friend Rose taught me years ago now. She was the master at finding potential in curbside castoffs. I took copious notes as she transformed old beaten dressers and sates into something that might have leaped off the pages of a Pottery Barn catalog. Since those days I’ve transformed my own share of thrifted and gifted furniture into recharged decor. I would still love to be able to win a sweepstakes to Broyhill someday, but for now I’m content with my transformed works.

This bookshelf was a Sauder-type freebie that was worn and creaky. I did some repair and paint work, backed it with excess curtain fabric, and made a garland of scraps. It sits in my daughter’s room and because I used what I had on hand, it cost me almost nothing.

Freegan Bookshelf

I topped it off with my favorite print from The Black Apple and a Lambkin I made last winter. Whenever I walk past it, it makes me smile.

Favorite Things

2 thoughts on “One Man’s Trash

  1. Hi,

    I just found your blog. I love turning trash to treasure too! (My best find so far was an oak bed out on the curb for trash pickup.)

    Nice work! It’s a good thing to do for the environment as well. Check out storyofstuff.com if you haven’t yet. I think you’ll appreciate it.

    Meredith

  2. Aw, cute cute! Good work, Mama!

Leave a Reply

