peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Feeding the Freezer

1 Comment

Feeding the FreezerMy dear mom came up today to help watch kiddos so I could feed my freezer. Although I was completely spent at the end of the day, I’m always glad when I put it into overhaul like this and get some plans in place for the “I don’t feel like cooking tonight” dilemma.

My list was a bit ambitious for one woman on her own, and I didn’t complete it all, but by the week’s end, I think I can tick it all off.

My go-to stash includes batch cooking across several food groups:

Protein batches included one 20 lb. turkey which yielded roughly 16 2- c. servings of chopped turkey for casseroles and soups plus dinner for that night, 3 lbs of pre-made meatballs and 2 meatloaves, 4 bags of “dump” chicken, 4 spaghetti pies, 2 quiche-in-a-bags, and I still have about 3 servings of creamy chicken shells to stuff.

During that time my bread maker was cranking out 4 large pizza doughs and a batch of Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls and I baked off 1 large and 2 small pumpkin quick breads.

I still want to make a cheesecake, muffins for after-school snacks, corndog muffins, crabcakes, and turkey pot pie filling.

I need more counters!
If you’ve done this style of cooking you know it’s the clean up that can kick your tail. I tried to keep up with the pots and pans, but I didn’t finish all the clean up till today.
Cinnamon Rolls in the making
This is my family’s absolute favorite breakfast treat…the Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls. The recipe can be found here. I roll them out and freeze them. Then I take them out the night before, thaw them in the fridge to rise, and they’re ready to bake off in the morning.  Yum!
Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

One thought on “Feeding the Freezer

  1. What a delightful blog you have…I couldn’t stop reading! And you have a lovely family. God bless…and I will keep reading and I am so glad I came across your blog.

Leave a Reply

