peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

February Sweet Spots

1 Comment

0802040004
These gorgeous beauties are not for Valentine’s Day but for our new daughter. Not bad for her first bouquet of flowers! They have brightened our February house and I have enjoyed them so much.
0802040002

Here is a fun project we made for valentines this year–crayon cookies.

Our crayon supply has grown exponentially over the last few years. I have to confess I am a sucker for back-to-school supplies. I buy them in bulk. There is such promise in a new notebook, a clean slate, and completely perfect points in the Crayola 24 pack. Another whole year of possibilities. I always buy myself a new notebook and pen along with the kids’ supplies. After all, it’s a new year of possibilities and prospects for me too.

0802070017

Yet perfect points soon become has-beens, and this project is a great way to make use of the Crayola graveyard. First, peel off the wrappers (I used a sharp knife to score down the side). Then break into thirds and fourths and put 2 and 3 color combinations together in mini muffin tins. Preheat oven to “warm” or 200 degrees F. and bake for 5-10 minutes.
0802070022

They do give off a slight, non-toxic odor, but it doesn’t last long. Once finished, let them cool for 5 minutes, then place in the freezer for another 30 minutes. This will allow the “cookies” to contract making it easier to pop them out of the tins. Make sure you include a “do not eat” warning with them. My kids really liked this project. I did too.

Paper muffin liners will make clean up easier. I learned this the hard way. Also, don’t use Washable crayons as they won’t set up right.

0802070023

And one more sweet spot for the February doldrums…pillow forts. There are 4 kidlets behind this barricade and they were entertained for an entire evening there.

Thankful for the simple things. 0802070021

One thought on “February Sweet Spots

  1. It all looks like fun! I know what you mean about those school supplies. They multiply like bunnies, don’t they. I might have to try this with our abundance of crayons, too.

Leave a Reply

