peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

sweating the sweater

2 Comments

0803080032

I began this sweater 6 weeks ago. I say that so casually as if it is merely one of many sweaters I have knit before. Uhum…it is my first-ever sweater and first-ever anything harder than winter outer wear (i.e. scarves, mittens, hats).

I can honestly say “so far so good”. I am, however, sweating the final assemblage. Two sleeves and a neckline are taunting me right now. I’ve come all this way only to realize I could be foiled by a neckline. Anything I haven’t known how to do thus far, I’ve been able to learn on You Tube. Thank you, Google, but I may have to call on some experts if that doesn’t go so well.

The pattern is from knitty.com and I love how it’s coming together. I’m working up a post on some of the handmade love we’ve received for B’s birth. But on a maternal level, I feel like this little sweater which began at the same time she did, will hold a sweet place in my heart. It’s where I cut my teeth on what I hope to be a long tradition of knitting for the people I love…from babes to big people.

I’ll have her model it when I finally finish it.

2 thoughts on “sweating the sweater

  1. I think this is going to be so lovely when it’s finished. I love the colouR!
    Melx

  2. Pingback: Sweaters « peace of my mind

Leave a Reply

