peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

ode to raspberries

1 Comment

Blackberries

Who doesn’t love this time of year, when the getting is this good.
We went berry picking for the first time last week. We’re blessed to live within a mile of a raspberry farm. I’ve always wanted to go and this year, we finally did. The kids and I had a wonderful time. They were enthusiastic little helpers. And we came home with about 7 lbs. of berry goods.

Our yield

As we talked with the owner, I asked how he liked to eat them best. Raspberry dumplings. Raspberry tarts. I took him up on his favorite method–over vanilla ice cream. My personal favorite was probably on my morning cereal.

My Blackberry

Kevin kept asking though, if I was actually going to make something with them or just keep them for pure noshing. I did make a raspberry rhubarb pie based on this recipe from Martha Stewart. It was so! good.

I also made some blackberry jam which has been a treat. Here is the recipe. It uses 2 ingredients and no Certo. I added a little lemon juice because the berries were pretty mellow.

Raspberry Jam

4 cups mashed berries

4 cups granulated sugar

  1. Use a very large pot.
  2. When the jam reaches a full rolling boil it will double in volume.
  3. Heat mashed berries until they reach a full rolling boil.
  4. Boil 2 minutes.
  5. Add sugar.
  6. Stir well.
  7. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, boil for 2 minutes.
  8. Remove from heat.
  9. Beat with rotary beater for 4 minutes
  10. Pour in sterilized jars and seal.

Happy Summering!

One thought on “ode to raspberries

  1. WOOHOO I’m the first to comment! I love rasberries! i love to put them in my smoothies! YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

