peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

I hear Locust

1 Comment

Last night we did one of our favorite things. We picked up two $5 pizzas and a 2 liter of Pepsi and headed to a metro park for dinner. First of all, I love having a night out of the kitchen. Secondly I love spending time together outdoors in this way. We took a hike down by the river and Kevin and the kids skipped rocks and trekked through the shallow waters while I took their pictures and stayed back with Britta. The sound of locust was deafening. Just like the groundhog’s shadow signals 6 more weeks of winter, the locust signal summer’s drawing to a close.

I get a little melancholy this time of year. I’ll have 4 children in school this year and it’s hard for me to swallow how fast time travels. I want it to slow down some days…but it won’t. So I suppose these twinges of sadness are there to make sure I’m making the most of it all today!
A day in the life of Summer
Here, Luke and Ty are tussling with each other and Amelia and Gabe are very serious about watering duty. The sunset was gorgeous.

Pink and Blue
I’m going to challenge myself to post more this month. We’ll see how it goes.

One thought on “I hear Locust

  1. Oh my gosh 2 pizzas feeds your entire crew??? Wow 2 pizzas just barely squeeks by with my SMALLER crew!! Looks like the kids had a blast. Although kids and the outdoors no matter how hot or cold always goes hand in hand!!

Leave a Reply

