peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Thankful

Leave a comment

Well I knew the day  would come and now it has.  I’m the mother of a ten year old.  I’ve really been digesting the fact that chunks of my children’s lives are passing by at warp speed.  I was so excited for him on his birthday.  It wasn’t until 2 days later as I was cleaning some things out of the basement that I began to have a slight moment (or more!).  Yes there were some tears shed. But I soon concluded that his growth is good, and it’s not all about me anyways!

0809200242

So in light of that, I celebrate Luke and praise God for giving me 10 years to enjoy him. I found this short post by Nancy Wilson to be God’s word to me in my state of mind…gratitude.  It’s the antidote for complaining, jealousy, loneliness, sadness, and many other thorns that rob us of Christ’s joy.

So to my boy on this decade, I want you to know how much I cherish who you are and are becoming.  You have an adventurous and eager spirit.  A hunger to know and learn.  A sensitivity and sweetness that I hope you’ll always keep.  You give the best hugs and I love it when you still ask me to read to you even though you are quite capable…and then you even rest your head on my shoulder while I do. We’ve had our fair share of struggles in 10 years, but it seems we’re learning in those times too.

May God keep you and protect you all of your days.  We thank God for you.

Leave a Reply

