peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

The Goops

Leave a comment

The Goops they lick their fingers, The Goops they lick their knives;
They spill their broth on the tablecloth-They lead disgusting lives.
The Goops they talk while eating, And loud and fast they chew;
So that is why I am glad that I Am not a Goop. Are you?
Table Manners
By Gelett Burgess

I learned this poem in first grade and it has never left me.  I used to quote it often to my children, but forgot about it for a while.  It’s making a comeback!

Manners

What’s the big deal about manners?  They are sometimes pretentious and often uncomfortable–especially from a child’s point of view.  But when all is said and done, they are important. They amount to considering your neighbor before yourself.  They are in place on other people’s behalf.   Thank you Mr. Turner for an excellent reminder in Sunday School of how to “consider your brother before yourself” (Phillipians 2).

My children’s manners need bumped up a bit.  They deteriorate quickly and if we are not eating regular, family-style meals together, they go unchecked even longer.  So I’m poking myself to get back on the wagon and raise the bar.

Not exactly pertaining to manners, but in the same ballpark is a great post on teaching children how to set the table from Flip Flops and Applesauce.   Amelia enjoyed it.  She colored and cut this template out and has learned to set the table as a result.  I’m going to print a few more for the boys.

Every once in a while we do a theme dinner to pass the winter blah months.  Maybe a formal meal with lots of forks and extra saucers is in our future.  We’ll see…the best laid plans, ya know.  For now, “please chew with your mouth closed” and “sit with your bum on the chair” works for me.

Leave a Reply

