peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Calgon, take me away!

2 Comments

Salt

I’m working on thinning my schedule. Sometimes I get in the warped frame of mind that I can say yes to everything. The stress and complexity that, in turn, brings to our home quickly shows me that I CAN’T! Duh!

Here is a “recipe” for some lovely Candy Cane Bath Salts.

12 tall jelly (12-ounce) canning jars with lid and rings

2 4-pound cartons Epsom Salts (approximately 16 cups)
4 pounds sea salt or Kosher salt (approximately 6 cups)
1/2 teaspoon glycerin, divided
12 to 15 drops peppermint essential oil
12 to 15 drops red food color

Wash, rinse and dry canning jars.

Empty one carton Epsom Salts into large mixing bowl or batter bowl. Add 3 cups sea salt, stir well. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon glycerin and 6 to 8 drops essential oil. Mix well.

In second large mixing bowl, empty one carton Epsom Salts, and add 3 cups sea salt. Stir well. Add 1/4 teaspoon glycerin, 6 to 8 drops essential oil, and food color. Stir until completely blended. Color should be even.

CEO’s tip: use a heavy-duty stand mixer (such as Kitchenaid-brand) to mix bath salts easily. Set mixer to lowest setting and mix until color is even–but don’t try this with hand mixers or smaller stand mixers!

Holding canning jars at an angle, layer salts in jars, alternating white and colored mixtures.

Melts away stress…or causes it…if you agree to coordinate making some for the PTO Christmas store when you have no wiggle room in your schedule as it is. And then you get to the meeting…for which your dear mother in law agreed to watch your children-one of which has come down with a strange virus at her house…only to find they don’t really even need the help after all. And you realize that rather than go to the next PTO meeting, you will be far better off to give your MIL her peace and quiet, put the kids to bed early and use a big dose of the lovely Candy Cane Bath Salts yourself.

I’m not bitter…just thinning the schedule.

Candy Cand Bath Salts

2 thoughts on “Calgon, take me away!

  1. As I read this post I thought to myself… gosh am I following a path the same as Erika?? I too can NEVER say no. Then find myself wondering why I took on all I did.
    It sounds like you have a plan for the next months meeting.
    Last year the PTO sucked me in at the end of the year because I had a “big voice on some issues”. This year I am VERY LOW KEY! I have gone to the meeting put in a couple two sense comments and gone home to NOT think about anything PTO related! They tried recruiting me for some holiday stuff but those darn hormones made it SUPER EASY to say a big fat NO!!! I figure I am best to stay clear once I have Garrison otherwise I will end up with a full plate at some point after the new year!!
    By the way the bath salt recipe is awesome.

  2. Pingback: The Making List « peace of my mind

Leave a Reply

