peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Pray where you are

2 Comments

The first days of a fresh year are gentle and still ones around here.  Our parents sometimes take our children for a night or two, (Bless them!!!) and in their absence I find myself alone with my thoughts…something rather scarce in this season of my life.  I took the time this morning to put them to paper.
Near
Each year I like to annal the highlights in a special  journal.  As I sat down to do that today I realized my last entry was half-done (which I remembered), but I was startled to find that it was recounting 2006! (which I thought would have been 2007).

Somewhere I had let not only one year slip by, but two! What takes me aback the most is that I vividly remember leaving the entry unfinished and it seemed like a blink ago.

So time marches on.  I tend to shy away from specific resolutions like losing 20 pounds…though I want to, or quitting coffee…I wouldn’t dream of it!  But I do feel a strong urge of resolve this time each year.  I make aim to try specific, new things in the year ahead; to love my husband and children more and more; but my highest objective is to grow in my knowledge and faith in God.   If I do nothing else in a year, my one desire is that I’m closer to my Savior in this year than I was in the last.

As a means to that end, I am compelled to make 2009 a year of prayer in my heart.  I am stirred to stand in the gap for our country, my husband, my children, and our loved ones as needs arise.  I hold to this familiar passage this year:

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.                               
2 Chronicles 7:14

My goals as a mother and wife are covered by the “closer to Him department.” He is the vine, I am a branch. Apart from Him I can do nothing. (John 15)

My personal objectives are to learn at least 2 songs on my guitar (I’ve always wanted to play) and to blog more consistently.  Incidentally the blog is one year old now. It’s been a good exercise for me and I will definitely keep at it.
I am also excited to take a ceramics class (my Christmas gift from my mother in law!) 

I would love to hear what you are aiming at in 2009. Happy New Year to all!

2 thoughts on “Pray where you are

  1. Continue writing my book…that is one of my most passionate goals this year! But I have to say…drawing closer to the Lord is number one as well as yourself! Blessings to you and your family in this new year.

  2. erika, looking at the picture of these poinsettas brings about such joy & peace from their beauty. i am not a winter-lover, but i must admit that the crisp white snow and the beautiful colors that contrast it (like these poinsettas) are gorgeous!

    my 2009 ‘goal’ is to be steady in my relationship with Christ. i find myself wobbling back and forth between passion and apathy. i want to be even-keeled (although this is not my personality!), consistently surrendered and utterly dependent upon God for all things. how will this look? perhaps more consistency in disciplining myself–not just the bible reading and praying, but also the disciplining of my feelings, my time & how i spend it, my possessions & how i share them, etc…..

    what a blessing you are!

Leave a Reply

