peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

On Becoming More Capable

2 Comments

I wish I wrote down all the things he says and does each day that make us laugh. His word choice and delivery is classic and there are usually lots of smiling faces when he’s talking. From infancy, we’ve called him Happy Jack and it still fits him to a “T”.

DSCN2290

Jack is always the last one at the dinner table. Last week though he must have hit a growth spurt because he finished his beef stroganoff first in a very stealth manner and then proudly announced “I beat all of you! that was a good dinner mom!” I congratulated him and offered him salad to which he replied “Little brothers do NOT eat salad!” O, well alright then.

At the ballpark after about 4 people had commented about how big Jack had gotten, I was carrying him and he said to me in his 3 year old logic, “Mom you are getting so huge!” Apparently he thought the compliments he had received all night would also apply to me. Thanks Buddy!

Most of our children have learned to ride 2 wheel bikes rather early. I remember learning to ride when I was 5 or 6 years old. My husband has a theory though, that if you teach them on a 24 inch bike while they are still little, they will evade the fear of failing because they are all gusto at that age. Well Jack did indeed learn in just a couple days time. The problem with the method though, is that one thing a 3 year old lacks, is judgment.

The other night he was showing me his “stuff” when suddenly he tipped right off onto his face. He had what appeared to be a broken nose (dead on) and some very messed up lips with lots of blood and tears. O my, I don’t do well to see my children bleed. I pulled myself together and settled him. My neighbor who is an ER nurse looked at him and suggested there probably wasn’t much they would do since it looked like a good break anyway. Thankfully he healed very fast but now must wear a crash helmet at all times (which, I know, should have been the case from the start).

But the swagger in his step shows just how excited he is to have mastered this new feat. In the same week, he learned to swim in the very pool he would not set foot in the whole summer before. Big steps all the way around.

DSCN2254

This year I aim to teach you preschool at home and more purposefully devote my days–while your siblings are at school–to you. I’m looking forward to it.

Four years ago when we met, I never could have imagined what having you could do to my heart.
Happy fourth year little brother!

2 thoughts on “On Becoming More Capable

  1. It’s so nice to get back on your blog, Erika, after a brief hiatus for me from the blogworld. Reading this is like sitting down to a good conversation with you, friend. You are a blessing from God to me and many others and I am thankful to know you. Listening to you share your joy of being Jack’s mama warms my heart and inspires me as a mom. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks you, Wendy! your comment was so nice and made me smile πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by! e

Leave a Reply

