peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Taking Thoughts Captive

1 Comment

Here are some thoughts I was honored to put to paper for our church newsletter.  I pray they may bless others as they are shared here too.

You’ll never be any good at….Why do you always….You’re not godly enough to….You’re a terrible…. How would you react if someone spoke such things to you? You might be paralyzed with guilt, gross introspection, hurt, anger, or fear. While it’s unlikely others make such accusations against us, this could well be a conversation taking place in our very own hearts and minds. Accusations can cause us to stumble in our pursuit of the things of God. They bear no good fruit and we must take such defeating thoughts captive.

This is a lesson God has been working out in my heart since hearing the truths Nancy Wilson shared at our women’s retreat last spring. Who am I listening to: the accuser or my intercessor? From her talk on Feminine Vulnerabilities, my notes read: “Our hearts condemn us. Don’t trust your own heart! The Holy Spirit never accuses us; it is the devil who wants to paralyze you in your calling.” Revelation 12:10 speaks of “the accuser of our brothers who accuses them before our God day and night.” Consider how our enemy, Satan, who roams the earth seeking whom he may devour, persists in chipping away at the weak spots in our walls as we build our homes. He stands day and night before our God hurling accusations at us!

I confess Satan’s accusations have paralyzed me plenty of times throughout my life with Christ. But accusations are not God’s way of dealing with His children. He is a father who disciplines when needed, corrects with His word, and convicts of specific sins by His Holy Spirit. His way is not to tell us we are failures and that we aren’t able to do what He’s calling us to do. This is the voice of the accuser. In contrast to this voice which seeks my ruin, is Hebrews 7:25. “But Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood. Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through Him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”  So while Satan stands before the Father day and night accusing me, Jesus sits at the right hand of the Father interceding on my behalf—always. The end result of believing accusations is defeat; but responding to the Holy Spirit results in repentance and sweet reconciliation.

Truthfully, there are days I still struggle with misgivings and defeat. Two verses have encouraged me in this area. First, whatever good I am doing, I am to do more and more (1 Thessalonians 4:1). I will not be complete in any area this side of heaven, yet my life is to be a practice toward godliness in increasing measure. The second is from Phil 3:15,16 “…if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. Only let us live up to what we have already attained.” God’s word is my greatest corrective. I am also tutored by others’ lives in Christ. But I am to be faithful to do what he has shown me this far, and to strive to do so in increasing measure until the day that I can personally thank the one who has saved me completely.


One thought on “Taking Thoughts Captive

  1. Nice job Erika that was a good devotional.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

