peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Hello February

Leave a comment

The shortest month of the year can easily seem the longest when there are 12 inches of snow on the ground and you haven’t seen the sun in weeks. I fare these mid-west winter blues much better with shots of color and spice.

Doorheart

Valentine’s day is always good for that. I’m thinking of cooking-in this year. These inspirations are from Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade Jan/Feb 2001.

Olive bar

I keep coming back to the idea of fondue…cheese and of course, chocolate. We had a cheese and fruit platter on a recent date night that I seriously keep thinking of too. Really? I can’t stop thinking about figs, almonds and stilton? It made a real impression, I guess. I would also like to try a recipe I saw for pomegranate salsa with seasoned fajita crisps. Yum!

Fondue

I liked these simple gifts for friends.

Table dressing

This satin rose heart was a quick project I worked at 20 minutes at a time for two or three days. Here is the original tutorial.

Heart3

Heart2

Since I wanted to use what I had, I modified it a bit. Rather than a Styrofoam heart, I cut a form from an oatmeal cereal box.  Although I sewed each strip, I did not gather them because the satin was harder to work with than broadcloth.  Lots of hot glue here!

The hot pink, satin yardage was sitting in my stash for too long. I think I bought it for a makeshift shawl for a murder mystery dinner costume years ago. It went to a good cause: helping to spice up February!

Oatmeal heart

Leave a Reply

