peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Yes!…to being prepared

1 Comment

Day 2:31

In an effort to get this house running more efficiently, I spent considerable time this past summer revamping how I organize the kids’ clothing.  With lots of kids (8) and lots of mid-west seasons (4), that’s roughly 16 cycles to move through–if done semi-annually. IF being the operative word!  For too long now, I just kept saying I needed to adopt a new method of organization, but in the meantime we would fudge by robbing Luke a shirt to pay Gabe some socks.  Not ideal as the purging and sorting takes more time than I ever have, so it inevitably leaves a disaster in it’s wake whenever I open that can of worms.

This post by Raising Olives, has been a target I’ve been working towards.  She mentions limiting the amount you store, how much clothing to keep accessible for each child, and ideas for keeping it clean and organized. Of course my clothing woes revolve around the number of bodies which need clothed so I can appreciate her insights for a large family, but there are some great general ideas too.

So yesterday I said Yes to actually working the new system. I changed out clothes for 4 kiddos and packed what was in their dressers into the appropriate storage totes. Instead of merely doing it in my head as I would each time I would walk by them, I actually put them in the storage room labeled, tidy, waiting for the next time they see the light of day.

2012-10-02_09-25-34_52.jpg

2012-10-02_09-25-58_519.jpg

Here is a PVC tote frame I saw on Pinterest. Maybe someday…

Source: studio5.ksl.com via Erika on Pinterest

But for today, this Yes! allowed me a straight shot down our often-crowded hall along with knowing they have what they need for winter. And I am happy for that!

When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
for all of them are clothed in scarlet. Proverbs 31:21

IMG_20121002_092115.jpg

31 days of Yes! is me dedicating to post each day for the month of October (which is a Yes! in itself) and to find one meaningful Yes! in each day.  Over 1200 bloggers are participating thanks to the lovely Nesting Place.

One thought on “Yes!…to being prepared

  1. Pingback: 31 days hath October « peace of my mind

Leave a Reply

