peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Yes! to a helping hand

Leave a comment

4:31 days of Yes!

One day last week I spent almost half of my day in our big, fat van. Shuffling kids here and there, just working the schedule as best I could. It was one of those days where I was behind all day and I was double and triple booked for parts of the day due to kids needing to be different places…all while my husband was at a meeting. It culminated, as you can imagine, in a brood of hungry kiddos around when we got home. Having failed to plan for dinner and finding only frozen hunks of meat on hand, I had not options but toast! Stellar, yes?

Though we do have a strange affinity for toast, it certainly is not a meal. Still, it’s all I had. Bread and butter for your supper. It’s all your mother’s got!

At Bible Study the next morning my prayer request was glaringly obvious. I asked that I would be able to care and plan for my family better in times of busyness as well as for us to discern how much busyness to take on. Feeding them is pretty much a non-negotiable; busyness cannot get in the way of that! Several friends who could write books on organizing and planning offered tips and best practices.  Truthfully, my first response to their help was prideful…”no thanks! we’re good” Really? My kids had just been famished and cranky the night before and I want to defend with, “O, I’m good!”? I had just asked for prayer to do better, but then had the gall to kindly defend my failures. God helped me recognize my request came from NEED, and to stop telling myself in pride that all was fine.  I had to admit my need could be met by someone else’s help. Duh!

Gaining an objective point of view indeed was a help. My friend met with me to look  at my schedule and see what I could do to improve it. Our time together revealed I am good at putting it all on paper, but  keeping all the plates spinning consistently is where I fall short.  Consistency and follow-up are two areas of weakness in which I need to pray to be sharpened. I would say 3 out of 4 weeks the schedule runs like a well-oiled machine. But the 4th week is when I lose stamina and tend to let plates drop. To get the house back on track when things have lost momentum is a daunting task.

So we’re thankfully back to meal plans and cleaning zones and regular chores for the kids. My Yes! is not to more chore charts and systems. These have their place and work for a time. I’m always up for revamping them and reigniting ownership around here. But I suspect we will be working on that until they all fly the nest. My Yes! is rather to taking help. Though met with resistance at first, it does a body good to admit a weakness and take instruction from those who are better at something than you. Perhaps you can become better in that area too.

What a good reminder that when I ask for prayer I should be willing to receive help. Perhaps the offer of help is the very means by which God will answer my prayer. If I only ask for prayer, but never humble myself to accept someone’s help, how do I know I am not rejecting the means of instruction God intends to use to answer those prayers? So Yes! to humility and accepting a helping hand. Thank you, Lord!

31 days of Yes! is me dedicating to post each day for the month of October (which is a Yes! in itself) and to find one meaningful Yes! in each day. Over 1200 bloggers are participating thanks to the lovely Nesting Place.

Leave a Reply

