peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Yes! to being *Here*

1 Comment

15:31 days of Yes!

“Mmmhmm…Mmmmhmmm…yep, I see”

These are often the utterances from my mouth paired with a quick glance to my children. An acknowledgement satisfied, I hurriedly return to stir the pot, fold the laundry, or check the phone. Too often I can mindlessly say the words, “I’m here” but my children aren’t dummies. They know that though I may be physically present, I am at times very far from here. Truth be told, it is often time pressures that occupy my mind and energies…just trying to catch all the balls I hit up earlier in the day.  Working through my list to make sure they have food in their tummies, clothes to wear and that they get where they need to be on time. Sadly, sometimes it is just that I mentally do escape.  I don’t like being like that! I am always amazed how my kids eat it up when I pause and look them in the eye at times like these.  A sober commentary as if to say, “you ARE listening!”

Today God graced me with a day of listening (most of it, anyway). Since most of the kids had off school, we did some Yes! things.  Made a few paper dolls with Amelia. Helped Gabe with Scout stuff (though he tried to do some through the dinner-making hour, which just cannot be done!) Read lots to the little ones.  Colored with Britta. Looked them in the eyes while they talked to me. Played Memory with Jack and Amelia. Stayed up later with Ty talking about school and stuff. Snuggled with Piper for her nebulizer treatments (she has a cough). And just generally took a slow day to Be here.  It was wonderful! How I need to do more of this!

31 days of Yes! is me dedicating to post each day for the month of October (which is a Yes! in itself) and to find one meaningful Yes! in each day.  Over 1200 bloggers are participating thanks to the lovely Nesting Place.

One thought on “Yes! to being *Here*

  1. Pingback: 31 days hath October « peace of my mind

Leave a Reply

