peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Yes! to them apples

4 Comments

17:31 days of Yes!

Today I said Yes! to some things that have been on the back burner. Namely 2 bushels of apples my sweet mom picked for us from my Grandpa’s trees.  They were almost sitting there too long. Happy to have them roasting and crockpotting away on the countertop now.  Tomorrow my mom is coming and hopefully, we will can applesauce. She has taught me these things and has passed supplies onto me from her own years of putting up–along with any stray jars that come across her path.  I am grateful for the tradition, the smell and the jars waiting for us all winter.

2012-10-17_16-14-14_104.jpg

2012-10-17_16-14-04_308.jpg

2012-10-17_16-16-43_406.jpg

2012-10-17_16-16-56_468.jpg

Of course little helping hands are always welcome!

Here is a wonderful recipe for Apple Peel Jelly I tried last year. It allows you to use every last peel and core worth using to make some mighty good jam. It’s yummy and frugal–two of my favorite things!

31 days of Yes! is me dedicating to post each day for the month of October (which is a Yes! in itself) and to find one meaningful Yes! in each day. Over 1200 bloggers are participating thanks to the lovely Nesting Place.

4 thoughts on “Yes! to them apples

  1. Pingback: 31 days hath October « peace of my mind

  2. Yuuum. Applesauce is such a great tradition, a sweet bridge between generations. I pinned the apple peel jelly recipe to try later. Last year, or maybe the year before, I used the peels for fruit scrap vinegar, which was fun too.

  3. O, that vinegar sounds like a good idea. I would like to hear more about that…

  4. It’s pretty easy, you just have to have a space to put the jars. Here’s where I found the recipe: http://thenourishingcook.com/how-to-make-fruit-scrap-vinegar/
    I think I followed it pretty much the way it is, except I boiled my water since I didn’t have filtered. You definitely need something to cover the top to keep the fruit flies out. If you scroll down here, you can see my set up of jars on a baking pan. http://inthelionsname.blogspot.com/2011/10/she-prayed.html
    have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

