peace of my mind

peace I leave you; my peace I give you… Jn.14:27

Yes! to fighting

1 Comment

22:31 days of Yes!

Yes to fighting… my flesh, that is. Today proved to be difficult from the moment my family hit the ground running. Sick little ones, the Monday morning shuffle, and a good dose of sin I was carrying in my hurt heart  from a marital situation. But God does not ever let me rest there (there IS no rest there) and so I was forced to toil with myself until my flesh cried “uncle”.

I am thankful that God does not leave His children to their own devices for long.  In Hebrews 12 we know that He disciplines those He loves. It is our mark of sonship and our reminder that the Father does not forsake His children.  He chastens me until I have no other choice but to obey. And herein lies freedom! (James 1:25)

Being resolved, I pray I can turn to a heart of service and joy. And if that ole’ flesh creeps up again, may I mortify it quickly…and how! As I was instructed this past weekend, there is no greater gain in this life than to lay down your life for others. May I joyfully lay mine down for this family He has given me!

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13

31 days of Yes! is me dedicating to post each day for the month of October (which is a Yes! in itself) and to find one meaningful Yes! in each day. Over 1200 bloggers are participating thanks to the lovely Nesting Place.

One thought on “Yes! to fighting

  1. Pingback: 31 days hath October « peace of my mind

Leave a Reply

